Home | Careers | Font size A A A
4/17/2014 - 04.17.14 Howard County Executive Ulman Announces Retirement of Police Chief McMahon; Appointment of New Chief Gardner READ MORE
3/14/2013 - 03.14.13 Howard County Executive Ulman to Discuss Gun Safety and Buyback Event READ MORE
12/7/2011 - 12.7.11 County Executive Ulman Seeks Members for Howard County’s Animal Matters Hearing Board READ MORE

Police: Community policing & resource officers

Community policing offices, also known as satellite offices, provide local residents and merchants with the opportunity to develop a personal relationship with a police officer dedicated to the neighborhood. The Howard County Police Department utilizes community policing offices throughout the county as part of the community-oriented policing philosophy that emphasizes cooperation between police and community members and problem solving.

Community policing offices are staffed by a dedicated Howard County officer and support personnel who are responsible for communicating with community members about crime and safety, addressing citizen concerns, attending community meetings, participating in community events, providing an active police presence in the community and conducting enforcement.

The officer, known as a neighborhood community resource officer, frequently conducts foot and bike patrols in the neighborhood and patrols the area in a marked police car.

Additionally, the community policing office coordinates Neighborhood Watch, Business Watch and hosts an annual celebration each August for National Night Out.

Residents are encouraged to visit the community policing office and introduce themselves to the neighborhood community resource officer.

All Howard County officers who patrol the neighborhood regularly utilize the community policing office to meet with residents and conduct police business. Although the office is not staffed 24 hours a day, residents can expect to see police in the office during days, evenings and weekends.

In case of emergency, do not call the community policing office. Call 911.

 

Community policing satellite offices

 

Harper’s Choice Community Policing Office
5485 Harpers Farm Road, Columbia, MD 21044
410-313-5790
Neighborhood Community Resource Officer: To be announced. 
Civilian community liaison: Tim Wolfe, twolfe@howardcountymd.gov

Long Reach Community Policing Office  

8775 Cloudleap Court, Suite M, Columbia, MD 21045
410-313-7455
Neighborhood Community Resource Officer: To be announced. 
Civilian community liaison: Nina Frolov, nfrolov@howardcountymd.gov

North Laurel Community Policing Office
9411 Whiskey Bottom Road, Laurel, MD 20703
410-313-0636
Neighborhood Community Resource Officer: PFC Erik Gillenwater, egillenwater@howardcountymd.gov
Civilian community liaison: Emma Young, eyoung@howardcountymd.gov  


Oakland Mills Community Policing Office
5820 Robert Oliver Place, Columbia, MD 21045
410-313-5805
Neighborhood Community Resource Officer: PFC Michael Pickett, mpickett@howardcountymd.gov

Civilian community liaison: Nina Frolov, nfrolov@howardcountymd.gov

Owen Brown Community Policing Office
7154 Cradlerock Way, Columbia, MD 21045
410-313-6206
Neighborhood Community Resource Officer: PFC David Sharpe, dsharpe@howardcountymd.gov

Wilde Lake Community Policing Office
10451 Twin Rivers Road, Columbia, MD 21044
410-313-7565
Neighborhood Community Resource Officer: PFC John Simcox, jsimcox@howardcountymd.gov 

Main Street Community Policing Office
8267 Main Street, Ellicott City, MD 21043
410-313-1448
Neighborhood Community Resource Officer: PFC Travis Turner, tturner@howardcountymd.gov 

 

District station community resources

 

Howard County police also provide community policing support for neighborhoods not listed above. Both county districts have a designated community resource officer to serve the county’s northern and southern areas.

Northern District Community Resource Officer (Clarksville, Elkridge, Ellicott City, Western Howard County)
3410 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043
410-313-3015
PFC Bonita Linkins, blinkins@howardcountymd.gov

Southern District Community Resource Officer (Columbia, Jessup, Laurel and Savage)
11226 Scaggsville Road, Laurel, MD 20723
410-313-3755
Ofc. Steven Mitzel, smitzel@howardcoundmd.gov