Home | Careers | Font size A A A
12/10/2014 - 12.9.14 County Executive Kittleman Names Gardner Chief of Police READ MORE
3/14/2013 - 03.14.13 Howard County Executive Ulman to Discuss Gun Safety and Buyback Event READ MORE
12/7/2011 - 12.7.11 County Executive Ulman Seeks Members for Howard County’s Animal Matters Hearing Board READ MORE

Police: Community policing & resource officers

The Howard County Police Department operates under the Community Policing model; where the community is a partner with the police department in the process to fight crime. Community policing uses community partnerships along with problem-solving strategies in order to make Howard County a safe place to live and work.  Through these partnerships, Howard County aims to build trust with the community, so it can feel supported and protected, while feeling comfortable coming forward with information about what is going on in your own communities in an effort to solve the problems together. 

Community Outreach efforts are conducted by all Howard County Police Officers, but specific officers from the Community Outreach Section, Neighborhood Community Resource Section and Pathways Patrol Section are specifically selected to head up these efforts. To learn more about the structure of HCPD's Community Outreach Section, please click here.

In addition to daily outreach by these officers, HCPD also conducts a monthly Coffee with a Cop.  Every first Thursday,  HCPD partners with a local business to provide coffee and the time to sit and chat about what’s happening in your community.  Look for Coffee with a Cop dates on our web site, Facebook.and Twitter.  A list of upcoming events can also be found here.

Outreach officers are also available to attend your community, church, or neighborhood gatherings, events, parties, or meetings, whether for an educational session, Q&A forum, or just to get to know us.  To let us know about your event, email HCPDOutreach@howardcountymd.gov. 

Follow us on Facebook @ HowardCountyPoliceDepartment, Twitter @ HCPDNews, or Instagram @ HoCoPolice. We are also on Nextdoor.com, a private community social network where we share news, crime information and upcoming events. To schedule a meeting or presentation, call 410-313-2207 or email HCPDOutreach@howardcountymd.gov.

Community Outreach Officers

Community Outreach Officers develop community programs and presentations and address neighborhood concerns for senior and multicultural populations, as well as for communities who do not have an otherwise designated Neighborhood Community Resource Officer. 

Supervisor, Community Outreach Section 

Sgt. Stephanie Wall, 410-313-2207,     swall@howardcountymd.gov  
6751 Columbia Gateway Drive, Columbia, MD 21046  

Northern District Community Resource Officer (areas north of Rt 108)  

PO Casey Viou, 410-313-3015, cviou@howardcountymd.gov 
3410 Courthouse Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21042 

Southern District Resource Officer (areas south of Rt 108) 

PFC Steven Mitzel, 410-313-3755,  smitzel@howardcountymd.gov  11226 Scaggsville Rd, Laurel, MD 20723 

Senior Population Liaison 

PFC Andre Lingham, 410-313-6089, alingham@howardcountymd.gov
6751 Columbia Gateway Drive, Columbia, MD 21046    

Multicultural Population Liaision 

PFC Bonita Linkins, 410-313-6085, blinkins@howardcountymd.gov
6751 Columbia Gateway Drive, Columbia, MD 21046 


Neighborhood Community Resource Officers

Neighborhood Community Resource Officers are embedded in specific communities, developing relationships with the neighborhood residents, businesses, and faith organizations, and addressing neighborhood concerns.  They operate out of police satellite offices. 

Supervisor, Neighborhood Community Resource Officers   

Sgt. Perry Thorsvik, 410-313-4607, pthorsvik@howardcountymd.gov
11226 Scaggsville Road, Laurel, MD 20733 

Harper’s Choice Community  

PFC Jeremy Bowers, 410-313-5790, jbowers@howardcountymd.gov
5485 Harpers Farm Road, Columbia, MD 21044   

Long Reach Community 

PFC Jared Dean, 410-313-7455, jdean@howardcountymd.gov
8775 Cloudleap Court, Suite M, Columbia, MD 21045  

North Laurel Community  

PFC Erik Gillenwater,410-313-0636, egillenwater@howardcountymd.gov
9411 Whiskey Bottom Road, Laurel, MD 20703

Oakland Mills Community  

PFC Luke Buchanan, 410-313-5805, LBuchanan@howardcountymd.gov
5820 Robert Oliver Place, Columbia, MD 20145   

Owen Brown Community  

PFC David Sharpe, 410-313-6206, dsharpe@howardcountymd.gov
7154 Cradlerock Way, Columbia, MD 20145

Wilde Lake Community  

PFC John Simcox, 410-313-7565, jsimcox@howardcountymd.gov
5485 Harpers Farm Road, Columbia, MD 20144 (Wilde Lake Village Center office currently closed)

Main Street Ellicott City and Elkridge Communities 

PFC Travis Turner, 410-313-1448, tturner@howardcountymd.gov
8267 Main Street, Ellicott City, MD 21043


Pathway Patrol Officers

Pathway Patrol Officers patrol the 190+ miles of pathways and trails in Howard County on mountain bikes and electric motorcycles.  This section provides a year-round, highly-visible police presence on pathways and in residential areas. The team works to deter crime, address quality-of-life issues and allows officers to interact more directly with community members. Officers are able to maneuver in areas not easily reached by police cruisers or that are too large to cover by foot.

Pathway Patrol Section Supervisor 

Sgt. Eric Kruhm, 410-313-2207, ekruhm@howardcountymd.gov