Home | Careers | Font size A A A
Click here to signup for notifications from Howard County Maryland Government

County Government Officials

Here are the people who head your county government and represent you on the state and federal levels. If you have any questions or comments about government services and programs, please contact them. Every ten years, after each census, Congress realigns congressional districts, the state legislature realigns legislative districts, and the Howard County Council, after considering advice from a seven member redistricting committee, realigns councilmanic districts. April 1, 2010, was Census Day. States received redistricting counts on April 1, 2011. 

The County Executive appoints directors of county departments and certain offices:

Aging: Starr Sowers (410-313-6410)  
Animal Control: Deborah Baracco (410-313-2780)
Budget: Holly Sun (410-313-2077)
Cable Administrator: Donna Richardson (410-313-3318)
Chief of Staff: B. Diane Wilson (410-313-0809)
Children's Services Administrator: Keri Hyde (410-313-1926)
Citizen Services: Phyllis Madachy (410-313-6400)
Community Sustainability: Jim Caldwell (410-313-2056) 
Consumer Affairs: Rebecca Bowman (410-313-6420)
Corrections: Jack Kavanagh (410-313-5200)
County Administration: Lonnie Robbins (410-313-2020)
Economic Development: Lawrence Twele (410-313-6500) 
Finance: Stan Milesky  (410-313-2195)
Fire and Rescue Services: John Butler (Acting) (410-313-6000)
Housing & Community Development: Tom Carbo (410-313-6320)
Human Resources: Wanda Hutchinson (410-313-2033)
Human Rights: Barbara Sands (410-313-6430)
Inspections, Licenses and Permits: Bob Frances (410-313-2433)
Law: Gary W. Kuc (410-313-2100)
Legislative Coordinator: Jennifer Sager (410-313-2164)
Military Affairs: Lisa Terry (410-313-0821)
Planning and Zoning: Valdis Lazdins(410-313-2350)
Police: Gary Gardner (410-313-3200)
Public Information: Deidre McCabe (410-313-2022) 
Public Works: Jim Irvin (410-313-4401)
Recreation and Parks: John Byrd  (410-313-4700)  
Technology & Communication Services: Christopher Merdon (410-313-3500)
Workforce Development: Francine Trout (410-313-4600)

Other Officials

Health Officer: Dr. Maura Rossman (410-313-6300)
Appointed by Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene.

Howard Community College President:
Kate Hetherington (410-772-4820)
Contracted by HCC Board of Trustees.

Library Director: Valerie Gross (410-313-7750)
Appointed by Board of Library Trustees.

Public School Superintendent: Dr. Renee Foose (410-313-6600)
Contracted by Board of Education

Elected Local Officials  

Board of Education Voters elect seven members at large for four-year, staggered terms.

Janet Siddiqui, Chairman

Ann De Lacy, Vice Chairman

Bess Altwerger
Sandra French  
Ellen Flynn Giles  
Christine O'Connor 
Cynthia Vaillancourt 
Patrick B. Mikulis  


County Council  

Voters elect five members by district for four-year terms. Council members may serve no more than three terms. Councilmanic districts are realigned every ten years, after each census (1990, 2000, 2010). Telephone 410-313-2001; mail to 3430 Courthouse Dr., Ellicott City, 21043, or e-mail:

District 1: Jon Weinstein, Vice Chairperson
District 2: Calvin Ball, Chairperson
District 3: Jennifer Terrasa
District 4: Mary Kay Sigaty
District 5: Greg Fox  

County Executive  

Allan H. Kittleman 

Voters elect a County Executive for a four-year term. The executive is limited to two terms. Telephone 410-313-2013; mail to 3430 Courthouse Dr., Ellicott City, 21043


Judges: Circuit Court, 5th Judicial District  

Voters elect five judges to 15-year terms.

Lenore R. Gelfman, County Administrative Judge (410-313-2143)

Louis A. Becker, Associate Judge (410-313-2083)
Richard Bernhardt, Associate Judge (410-313-2145)  
Timothy J. McCrone, Associate Judge (410-313-2149)
William V. Tucker, Associate Judge (410-313-2066)

District Court Judges  

The Governor appoints District Court judges. 

Wayne A. Brooks
Brian D. Green
JoAnn M. Ellinghaus-Jones, Administrative Judge 
Pamila Brown
Sue Ellen Hantman
Mary C. Reese
Ricardo D. Zwaig

Other Court Officials  

Voters elect the following for four-year terms:

Clerk of the Court: Wayne A. Robey, Clerk (410-313-3825)
Judges of Orphans Court: Anne Dodd, Nicole Bormel Miller, Leslie Turner (410-313-2133)
Register of Wills: Byron MacFarlane (410-313-2133)

Masters in Chancery, Circuit Court
Mary M. Kramer (410-313-3635) 
M. Elaine Patrick (410-313-2638) 
Lara C. Weathersbee (410-313-3635)


Voters elect a sheriff for a four-year term with no term limit.

James F. Fitzgerald (410-313-2150)

State's Attorney  

Voters elect a State's Attorney for a four-year term. There are no term limitations.

Dario Broccolino (410-313-2108)